ex-OSA staffmember works to reform the subject of Scientology

DennisClarke

Dennis Clarke passed away from this life on May 9, 2017.

https://www.gofundme.com/final-moments-with-my-father#
Your father, Dennis Clarke, was an inspiration and help to me. He was one of the greatest confronters of evil I have ever met, courageously and tirelessly working to expose the brutalities of psychiatry despite continual attacks from many fronts.  But along with all that, he was also one of the sharpest intellects and thinkers I have known.  His ability to shed light on events and conflicts, and to lead people out of herd mentality and into reason, was phenomenal.  When everyone around was clamoring for war, Dennis stood up for peace.  He was a leader and a man of integrity, and a very helpful influence to me.

Scott Gordon

Dennis was a friend of mine who helped me through a major investigation into criminal fraud somewhere west of Dallas, in the course of carrying out duties in my sphere of responsibility as Director of Special Affairs at Celebrity Center Dallas for Office of Special Affairs of the Western United States.  This was not a minor affair.  In fact, the corruption surrounding this long-time Scientologist we were investigating went so high up into the church, that for a brief period I trusted Dennis more than I did my superiors in OSA.  His detective work in getting the final, damning evidence needed to seal the case, and his ability to accurately report on it, made all the difference.

While I acknowledge that Dennis was not of exemplary behavior at all to those exercising their first amendment rights in picketing the church (I do not blame Mark Bunker for example, for how he’s said he feels about Dennis) or in practicing their religious freedoms in the new David Mayo organization called the “Advanced Ability Center,” there are many overriding reasons that I am not ashamed to call Dennis my friend.  My affinity for this being who did more than any I know to expose the criminal, evil aspects of institutional psychiatry boldly in public, is not alloyed.

I was a “fanatic Scientologist” too, when I knew and worked with and corresponded with Dennis Clarke (2003-2012).  But by this time he was older and wiser, and no longer focused on protesters or detractors of the church.  By this time, having been subjected to Fair Game from his own group, he was aware of a bigger picture of society and had a far more responsible and caring viewpoint about things.  He confided in me and I in him.   He shared concerns with me that people in the church – specifically OSA – were working on destroying him.  In turn, I pointed out to him that David Miscavige was not following Hubbard policy and in fact was being extremely abusive and had been steering the church into a fatal course.

Along with a “memories of” post I am going to share at the end, I’ve also collected some comments made by others who knew and worked with Dennis, to give a wider range of viewpoints – positive ones – to balance out what has been said elsewhere.

The following are excerpted from this post Marty Rathbun made about Dennis Clarke in 2011:
https://markrathbun.wordpress.com/2011/07/19/ias-atrocities-part-one-dennis-clark/

I certainly remember Dennis well from my early CCHR spokesman days. As I recall, he was the national spokesman while I was the spokesman for California. So I got to know him a quite a bit for a time.

FWIW, I also observed he could become “overstimulated” upon occasion. Yet he was someone I was proud to go with into battle. He never backed down.

Obviously his loyalty blinded him to the horrible threat, and ultimately death-star level devastation, within the church. But he certainly was not alone in that regard.

So here we are again, with M&M and other Indies moving in on the line to provide aid and comfort to a fallen comrade. Doesn’t matter if he/she is heads up or tits up.

To me, this is an acid test of whether we abide by The Code of Honor or not.

To me, this is one clear way we can evaluate who is real and who is a fake.

Scios lurkers, please look closely at this situation.

It speaks volumes. And at some point (my guess is really soon) each of us must choose a side to stand on.

After all, there are no spectators on the Road to Freedom.

Thanks to all who are helping.

Vic K.

This next one was in reference to Dennis working a radio show in Clearwater, for which he was attacked by as he put it, the “new CCHR group” there —

Sad but not surprising. Last I remember seeing Dennis was a decade or so ago in Clearwater where he ran an anti-psych radio show. I walked into his studio one day with my camera and with his permission took bunch of shots. Dennis was visibly delighted by this attention (though I was with OSA that visit was spirited by my personal interest). Dennis at that time was considered a loose cannon, a potential security risk… Wouldn’t Dennis – or anyone for that matter – kind of pick that up??? That they are excluded, not included. It’s one of the worst things you can do to another, make him or her feel excluded. Terrible stuff. So I think I felt for Dennis at that time, wanting to show some support.

Thanks Marty for answering the plea for help. I am not surprised that you did. You sir, are awesome.

And part of my reply to that:

…Dennis blew the whistle on these things [Ponzi schemes to “get going up the Bridge”] in reports and then got run out of town, losing his successful LRH-oriented radio show to these arrogant partisans who cut his financial base with third party.

Dennis started producing brilliant, early-warning write-ups about the post 911 war-mongering about to embroil the 4th dynamic, an Eli Lily cabinet White House, loss of civil liberties, Bush’s first psych meds prescription, etc.  He put ethics in on the warmongering taking hold on the Scientologist e-mail groups and generally set a good example of “independent thought” along the lines of LRH data series and ethics and justice.  This is when [all that] was quite unpopular amongst this crowd.  Many didn’t appreciate being reminded about LRH’s anti-war stance.

Dennis took up unpopular calls for justice for the poor and disenfranchised during a period when it was getting more and more popular in the group to blast people as “downstats.”   And he continued to be hit for it with reports from the most highly-placed of OT[Ambassadors] and DM [David Miscavige fanatics] bots.

Then in recent years, in his passion for uncovering nutritional and other related pro-survival technologies, he set about helping others gear up for the avian-swine flu, uncovered by his own research months before it hit the media.   Dennis stumbled upon the now-recognized miraculous breakthroughs in Vitamin D research.  This is today starting to finally reach mainstream media and the broader culture as a vital, but generally deficient nutrient, [a] cancer preventative, plague-virus preventative, and general health and immune-system builder long neglected due to poor and false advice to avoid sun exposure.

Dennis… faithfully stayed on the subject educating his readership for years.  Thanks to his [patient reminders] on that, I am among those of his readership now enjoying excellent health and a family member of mine was cured of a chronic condition once that deficiency was addressed…

“Change no man’s politics, change no man’s religion…” – LRH [one of Dennis’ favorite LRH quotes]

Scott Gordon [WATCHFUL NAVIGATOR]

*

Monte Wow, I hate to hear this news about Dennis. Although I never met the him I did, on a few occasions, attend talks he gave when he would come through Portland back in the day. I always liked him and admired his modern day warrior beingness. Years later when I was living in Clearwater I would tune in daily to his 3hr long radio show, The Human Rights Hour. The HRH was not a radio talk show where any listeners would call in. Instead, it was Dennis filling the 3hrs with personal anecdotes, reading reports from numerous sources, interviewing really interesting guests and so on. Easily, the lion’s share of his program pertained in some way to the health care field. He also, of course, had shows about Dianetics and he often would play an LRH lecture. As I most of the time listened to his show through a litle boom box I had that also had a tape recorder. I ended up taping hrs and hrs of his programs. That noted, here’s a little side story about what I did with some of those tapes.

There were three guests that Dennis had on his show on a frequent basis. It was obvious that he really liked them and they really liked him. These three guests were: Dr. Udo Erasmus, the creator of “Udo’s Oil” (wonderful product!!), Dr. Sherry Rodgers, who shared incredible info straight from studies published in the Journal of the American Medical Assoc. This info that Sherry would bring to the table turned out to be a major process of false data stripping. And finally, there was Dr. Ann Blake Tracy who was an expert on psyche drugs. Well, I selected what I thought to be the best interview that each of these individuals had done with Dennis and I made numerous copies of each. Then, on a trip I made from Clearwater to AR then to TX and back to FL, whenever I came even close to a health food store, I would stop in, visit for a while then before leaving, give the mgr of the store copies of these three interviews. A couple of yrs later when I made another trip to AR, and stopped back in to a couple of stores that I had visited previously I noticed that they were selling books by all three of Dr.s and also were selling Udo’s Oil.

Dennis Clark’s sphere of influence was certainly of no small magnitude.

As far as the CoS’s and church mbrs not reaching out to help a fellow mbr in need, this lack of compassion and lack of willingness to lend a helping hand, is, per my observations, not atypical amongst organized groups. This is the manifestatin of a species that has become “dis” e.g., disconnected, disassociated, disaffected, disparaged, dispassionate, disloyal, disillusioned and so on.

This phenomeon of throwing fellow mbrs under the bus in their time of need even occurs within the so called secret societies. For example, My grandfather was a 32nd degree Mason and when he reached a point in his life where he really could use a helping hand and turned to his group expecting one…well, no helping hand came from the Masons.

Okay, that being noted with regards to organized groups, I have seen and experienced in cyber communities, when someone in such a community hits a hard spot in the road, there is no lack of compassion and actual help that other mbrs of the community are ready and willing to flow.

 

Some Memories…

Dennis Clarke was President of Citizen’s Commission on Human Rights for many years, before Miscavige pulled a coup on him behind his back, leaving him stranded in Mexico (late 80’s?) while heavy third-party was being generated and criminal Jan Eastgate was imported from Australia, where she had covered up Scio crimes (I do not know many more details than that).  Dennis came back from his hard-working tour through Mexico to find he’d been taken off post!

I am sure it was maddening for him the rest of his life, to never know that the COB had engineered such a heartless and brutal attack on a really effective spokesperson against criminal psychiatry. (I tried to drop such a hint to him when I got him to look at DM’s criminality before I was outed and declared SP in May 2012, but he believed in David Miscavige to the end because as he put it, he’d witnessed David “handle Shelly so wonderfully” when they’d gotten out of their limo where they had apparently been fighting, just before arriving for a movie showing at Flag, and felt that “proved” DM had “compassion” – yeah, I know…).

Dennis Clarke was the first winner of the IAS Freedom Medal, which in that day was actually awarded for something real. I’m pretty sure that this status showered on him by David Miscavige blinded him to the later, brutal betrayals of this despot against him.

I am aware of his earliest days reportedly “womanizing” around CCHR (which won him some female enemies in OSA), and his infiltration work for RTC’s nasty Fair Game operation against David Mayo in 1984, and his arguably bullying actions against picketers throughout the 90’s – Dennis was a true believer and energetic defender of his religion.

I wanted to share however, some extremely positive points about this man who once helped bail me out of trouble while investigating a corrupt field situation with a criminal fraud operation that went so high up the org board that my own post was seriously threatened and I was on the edge of a Comm-Ev removal from post for “attacking an upstat” [Scientologese for a “successful person” who should be “left alone” – which was at times taken to extremes, even when the person was demonstrably involved in criminal activity].

[I will tell that exciting story another day, because it’s too long for right here, and so it’s not that appropriate.  Dennis did some impressive investigative work and helped me shut down a criminal operation, and finally got me exonerated from doubts over what I was doing with the case.]

To me, Dennis was a person of integrity and head and shoulders above the typical corporate Scientologist in that regard. I think that he kept my secret in regards to tipping him off about the criminality of Miscavige coming to light in the emerging Tampa Bay Times Truth Rundown (he told me that of all the people – opinion leaders included – my alert to him in the form of an impassioned appeal message, was the only one that got him to really “look”), and in return I had already kept and continued to keep, his originations in confidence that OSA was infiltrated with “agents” and that some were actively working on taking him out (as in “killing” him), which I know seems paranoid, but from what I knew then and what I know now, I still believe to have distinct possibilities of being valid.  Of course, I know that by the time of Marty’s article, his mind was beginning to break down and this lingering feeling of persecution, rooted in older, actual situations, became a source of great distress to him.

David Miscavige really had long been “after him,” even if the greatest danger was no more.

I have no problem believing internal operations of such an alarming nature did occur in this criminal organization deep within OSA, along with parallel operations being run by outside agencies, some with interests supporting, some with interests against, Scientology.

I have no faintest doubt that David Miscavige was continually upset at Dennis Clarke’s Opinion Leader status and his incredible influence over the field, and his integrity such that if things like the “illegal 6-mo. checks” (which did raise Dennis’s interest greatly when I pointed it out) or David Miscavige’s betrayal of the public by violence and inurement of IAS and other funds, ever got through those filters of his defending his “religion,” he had the capability of bringing more down than even Debbie Cook did with her OL [“opinion leader”] status and letter. If you could have convinced this man that those crimes really did exist, he would not have tolerated it for a minute.

Dennis could not break away in the end, and when I, still “under the radar” and making preparations to drive to Clearwater and give him assists (about to bring an e-meter which in retrospect was dumb because although I had no great “back-off” – it would have not been okay with anyone since I was not of his case level – OT V), called him up at his Clearwater assisted-living home, he asked me point-blank if I was in “good standing” to which I replied honestly, “yeah, technically, but I think I’m in trouble” – he politely and graciously thanked me for the offer and said I should not drive all the way out to do that (plus other friends were rightly worried about my safety in Clearwater since it was becoming more and more obvious I wasn’t really “under the radar” anymore with OSA – they had people around Dennis who in retrospect as I write this, must have had access to his computer where my “treasonous” – to Chairman of the Board, David Miscavige – e-mails could be found).

So I’ll break it down into simple points some of the things he did during the time I knew him, which was long after all the work he did with major media appearances speaking out against barbaric practices of criminal psychiatry (I neither stupidly believe psychiatry has the answers to the mind, nor go to the other extreme and deny that there are not some decent psychiatrists, like Jung, Berne, and many others, very much worthy of study).

*Dennis Clarke stood up boldly and spoke against the war when Bush had 90% approval ratings and much of the Scientology field was very caught up in this and justifying the war (which as you know turned out to be illegal and practically baseless).  He did not just “shout people down” though – he painstakingly developed his arguments and presentations using a combination of LRH quotes and inspired writings from other sources.  On this Dynamic he demonstrated that he was a man of peace and steadfastly against the brutality of war.

*By the time of the 2004 elections, a number of Scientologists were becoming so blatantly political that e-mails began circulating from “official” church (Sea Org!) terminals caught up in it. Dennis and I talked about this epidemic at length, and though I was in transition to Costa Rica, I still had the ear of OSA Int, and we both put in the “Scientology is non-political” datum in “with a bang” – not – for the reason of tax-exempt status (which won the day with OSA) – but on principle. Dennis had taught me the mechanism in the mind that drives people to extremes (it is in the technical material on the Goals-Problem-Mass and audited on OT II to some degree) for which I will be forever grateful, since even without ever doing OT II it freed me from group-think and compulsion to “play teams” and “choose sides” (things that by the way, helped me straighten out in myself, a sense of real justice in contrast to Hubbard’s problematic “us vs. them” justice rampant in Scio think).

*Dennis pushed the breaking Vitamin D research (some would say too far, but the important point is that it has turned out to be highly important health information) with a constant stream of high-quality technical articles and presentations – he cared about getting this vital information out – and we both figured out an important truth with regards to race and skin color in humanity, and that is that the only reason for varying skin color and especially lighter skin for the human body at Northern latitudes, is to accomplish the absorption of Vitamin D from solar exposure, so that young females could develop bone structure suitable for childbirth (today they solve that unnaturally, with C-section births).

*Dennis was greatly concerned about reports of arsenic contamination in wells being drilled for third world populations, and he actually traveled overseas to investigate it first-hand. In the end he found that the contamination was “natural” (deposits of arsenic-concentrated veins in the earth) but we both remained suspicious, considering the WHO (World Health Org) was involved and people were being poisoned. The point here – whatever you believe about our suspicions – is that he cared enough to spend the time and go and look for himself.

*Dennis continually blew the whistle on numerous “Ponzi schemes” that fanatic and unethical Scientologists would continually concoct in hopes of getting rich and getting up the expensive Bridge. He was continually attacked by those who knew they were being foiled. Dennis demanded that businesses have exchangeable products and did not look well on pyramid schemes, at all.

*Dennis continually campaigned for justice using the most sensible quotes he could find (not limited to LRH). He was pushing Human Rights long before OSA finally came out with their campaigns after 2002 (and this ties back to my comment about his passion for peace within and between nations).

Yes, I know you some of you who were on the receiving end of this guy at protests will probably spot some uncomfortable ironies here – but Dennis was no typical, robotic, corporate Scientologist. His example of integrity in many areas, was positively inspiring to me – and I know to many others in the Scientologist community – and, in the end, this was part of the inspiration I would need to summon the courage to leave the criminal church, and to eventually today, continue whistleblowing and campaigning for real justice.

Dennis Clarke had quite a positive impact on my life.

Although I ended up cut off by “Disconnection” from Dennis, I always hoped he was doing well, and I know for certain that there is going to be quite a powerful being coming back to this earth in the near future.

Scott Gordon [WATCHFUL NAVIGATOR]

Leave a Reply

